The Garden State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (GS-LSAMP) is an alliance of 8 colleges and universities across the state of New Jersey. In Phase I, the goal of the GS-LSAMP was to increase the number of underrepresented minority students who graduate with degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). The alliance exceeded this goal by doubling the number of underrepresented minority students in STEM. In Phase II, the GS-LSAMP goals are simple: 

  • Integrate and increase research among undergraduate students
  • Opportunities for international research (i.e. study abroad)
  • Build a pipeline for GS-LSAMP Scholars from community colleges to four-year institutions
  • Build a pipeline for GS-LSAMP Scholars in baccalaureate study to graduate study

Garden State LSAMP Alliance Members

Northern Cluster

William Patterson University
Fairleigh Dickinson University

Montclair State University

Central Cluster

Essex County College
New Jersey City University
Kean University
Rutgers University, Newark

Southern Cluster

Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Northern New Jersey Bridges to the Baccalaureate (NNJ-B2B)

Bergen County Community College

Hudson County Community College

Middlesex County Community College

Passaic County Community College

Union County Community College

National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

The NSF funds research and education in science and engineering, through grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements.

To learn more about the NSF, please click here.